How to Make Wool Dryer Balls

image1

For getting hooked on these I have to give credits to my mother in law. She gave me a few dryer balls last year and I love them. It’s recommended to place 3 for a medium load, 4 for a large load.

Dryer balls are great for the following reasons:

  • They cut your drying time, by absorbing all the moister taking less time for your laundry to dry.
  • They reduce static cling, which doesn’t bother me but I’m sure it bothers some.
  • You can add essential oils to the ball making your laundry smell great and chemical free!
  • They last a long time, so money well spent!

Heres what you need:

  • 100% wool yarn, i bought mine at Joann’s Fabric with a 60% off coupon. Only cost me $2.80 and I made 4 balls. I also found some at a thrift store for a $1.
  • Scissors
  • Panty Hose

image1(1)

  • I chose Patons Wool, nothing fancy but I like it.

image4

  • Start by holding the yarn in your hand like the picture above.

image5

  • Wrap the yard around your fingers. Doesn’t have to be a lot. I probably wrapped it 10 to 15 times.
  • Next, remove it from your hand and wrap the yarn in the middle, like your making a bow.

image7

  • Now place both ends of the loops together and start wrapping to form the ball.

image8

  • Now you just need to keep wrapping until you form the ball size you choose. Mine are about tennis ball size, maybe a little bigger. Tie off the end and place it under some of the strands so it doesn’t stick out or fall out.

image9 image2

  • I showed 2 different balls, the first one is showing how it forms a ball and the second to a finished ball.

image1

  • Now place the balls inside the panty hose. You can tie the panty hose to separate the balls like I did, or you can tie with ribbon or string. Don’t use some of the yarn or it will felt to the panty hose.

image3

  • After you place your balls in the panty hose you throw them in the washer. I washed them with my blankets on hot. Then place them in the dryer. The whole reason you are washing a drying them is so they “Felt.” This is where the strings felt together, so if you pull one they all pull. If the single strands are pulling a part repeat until they felt together.
  • As you use the balls they will pill, but that is normal.
  • Enjoy!


Leave a comment